by nerinacocchi

Paris, 12th arrondissement

Dear reader,

just to follow up on yesterday’s post. I do know. Or, to put it plainly, I know a little more than yesterday. Anne Bogart’s words are always a comfort to me when panic sets in and I have no sense of direction. Yes, I will always feel a sense of inadequacy or inability to convey my own meaning, but there is also a space in myself where things do get clear once I commit to making them clear.

I spent most of this morning typing up my notes from yesterday, and they made sense. Interaction and community building are my focus in this creative process, as hard as that is while rehearsing and preparing the encounter with the audience. Narrative-building for identification purposes is not on my list of priorities. And characterization is, as everything in this piece, a question of choices, bold ones, and layering. Layering, layering, layering. Layers allow perspectives, and they allow the development of individual participation and collective strategy. As well as questioning. Where questioning brings constructive doubt, and constructive doubt allows self-observation, awareness and imagining something different, maybe more powerful, maybe less, but always innovating.

With Parc de Belleville ground under my feet,

Nerina

